## INTRODUCTION

The 1973 Minnesota Legislature was the first to meet under guidelines of a new Constitutional Amendment. This Amendment was approved by Minnesota voters in November, 1972, authorizing the Legislature to define legislative day, and thereby allowing for flexible meeting times for legislative sessions. Even though the Legislature is limited by law to a total of 120 legislative days per biennium, the days may now be spread over two years. However, the length of the session each year is governed by the fact that the Legislature cannot meet in regular session after the first Monday following the third Saturday in May of any year. The 68th Legislature, First Session, began January 2, 1973 and adjourned May 21, 1973, until January 15, 1974, when the Second Session will begin.

Pursuant to a statute passed during the 1973 Session, effective April 19, 1973, candidates for the Legislature will campaign on a partisan ballot, ending 60 years of "non-partisan" legislative elections. In this Session the members caucused for purposes of organization as members of the DFL Caucus or the Conservative Caucus.

For the first time since 1858, the Senate was organized by a clear Democratic (DFL) majority. The House of Representatives saw a return of DFL control after 10 years of Conservative majorities. In the Senate, there were 37 DFL-ers and 30 Conservatives.

Each caucus elects leaders who serve as spokesmen for their respective groups. The DFL majority selected Senator Nicholas D. Coleman of St. Paul, who serves as floor leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration. The Conservative minority selected Senator Harold G. Krieger of Rochester as their leader.

Another Constitutional Amendment approved by the Minnesota electorate in 1972 removed the Lieutenant Governor as presiding officer of the Senate. The Senate now elects its President from its membership, and the first member President of the Minnesota Senate is Senator Alec G. Olson of Spicer, Minnesota.

Even though the Senators had served only two years of the four year term to which they were elected in 1970, all ran for re-election in 1972 because of the Constitutional requirement of a new election after each apportionment. In an attempt to meet their responsibility to reapportion the Legislature, the members passed a reapportionment plan on October 29, 1971, and adjourned Sine Die on October 30. Governor Wendell R. Anderson vetoed the bill on November 1, 1971.

On December 3, 1971, a three judge federal panel consisting of Gerald W. Heaney, Circuit Judge; Edward A. Devitt, Chief District Judge and Earl R. Larson, District Judge, submitted a plan which reduced the size of the Legislature to 35 Senators and 105 Representatives.

The Minnesota Senate filed an appeal of the U.S. District Court decision on January 25, 1972. The appeal was upheld on the grounds that the three judge panel had no right to reduce the size of the Legislature. The U.S. Supreme Court then ordered the three judge panel to produce a new plan which would not reduce the size. This plan was adopted on June 2, 1972, which reapportioned the Minnesota Legislature into its present membership of 67 Senators elected to four year terms and 134 Representatives elected to two year terms.

## Members of the Senate

Anderson, Jerald C. Arnold, Norbert Ashbach, Robert O. Bang, Otto T., Jr. Berg, Charles Bernhagen, John J. Blatz, Jerome V. Borden, Winston W. Brown, Robert J. Chenoweth, John C. Chmielewski, Florian Coleman, Nicholas D. Conzemius, George R. Davies, Jack Doty, Ralph R. Dunn, Robert Fitzsimons, Richard W. Frederick, Mel Gearty, Edward J. Hansen, C. R. Baldy Hansen, Mel Hanson, Roger Hughes, Jerome M. Humphrey, Hubert H. III Jensen. Carl A. Josefson, J. A. Keefe, John Keefe, Stephen Kirchner, William G. Kleinbaum, Jack I. Knutson, Howard A. Kowalczyk, Al Krieger, Harold G. Larson, Lew W.

Laufenburger, Roger Lewis, B. Robert Lord. James F. McCutcheon, Bill Milton, John Moe, Roger D. Nelson, Rolf North, Robert D. Novak, Edward G. Ogdahl, Harmon T. Olhoft, Wayne Olson, Alec G. Olson, Howard D. Olson, John L. O'Neill, Joseph T. Patton, John M. Perpich, A. J. Perpich, George F. Pillsbury, George S. Purfeerst, Clarence M. Renneke, Earl W. Schaaf, David D. Schrom, Ed Sillers, Douglas H. Solon, Sam G. Spear, Allan H. Stassen, J. Robert Stokowski, Eugene Tennessen, Robert J. Thorup, Stanley N. Ueland, Arnulf, Jr. Wegener, Myrton O. Willet, Gerald L.

## Officers of the Senate

Olson, Alec G	President
Flahaven, Patrick E	Secretary
Vavrosky, Joseph C	First Assistant Secretary
Mattson, Janine	Second Assistant Secretary
Miller, Donald M	Third Assistant Secretary
Johnson, Paul	. Fourth Assistant Secretary
Goodwin, George G	Minority Secretary
Jacks, Craig A	Sergeant-at-Arms
Filipovich, John	. Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms
Richter, Paul	Enrolling Clerk
Greenwalt, James E	
Finn, Father Nicholas J	
Dumke, Rev. Paul	
Goodman, Rabbi Arnold M	
Law, Rev. William G	
O'Neill, Father John	
Brown, Rev. Amos C	Chaplain