Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on January 21st, 2025, in Room 123 of the State Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris Chair MURPHY, Tom Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

Representative Murphy moved the minutes of January 16th, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

Representative Murphy assumed the gavel at 1:00PM.

HF0009 (Swedzinski)

Hydroelectric capacity that qualifies as an eligible energy technology under the renewable energy standard modified, requirement for electric utilities to meet standards delayed, demolition of fossil-fuel-powered electric generating plants prohibited under certain circumstances, and other renewable energy policy provisions modified.

Chair Swedzinski moved HF0009 to be re-referred to the Taxes Committee.

Representative Murphy moved to adopt the HF0009A1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

Testifiers:

The following individuals testified on HF0009 as Amended.

Jenny Glumack, Minnesota Rural Electric Association testified in favor of HF0009.

Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce testified in favor of HF0009.

Annette Henkel, Minnesota Utility Investors testified in favor of HF0009.

Blake Johnson, Prairie Island Indian Community testified in opposition to HF0009.

Rick Evans, Xcel Energy testified.

Kent Sulem, Minnesota Utility Investors testified in favor of HF0009.

Rachel Stuckey, Minnesota Conservative Energy Forum testified in favor of HF0009.

Zach Martin, ALLETE / MN Power testified in favor of HF0009.

Marty Seifert, Brainerd Public Utilities Commission testified in favor of HF0009.

Representative Murphy renewed his motion that HF0009 be re-referred to the Taxes Committee. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 PM.

Dann	ocontotix	zo Chris	Curadai	nalsi Cl	2011	
Kepro	esemany	e Chris S	Swedzi	iiski, Ci	lair	