## Reprinted by permission of the Star Tribune (Minneapolis, MN).

## THE MINNEAPOLIS STAR\_\_\_\_\_Mon., April 28, 1947 14 **REPORTERS PICK TOP 20** 'Most Valuable' Legislators Named



Dunn

Rogosheske

Mullin



Sullivan

## Senator Mullin Wins Scribes' Unanimous Vote

Sixteen newspaper and radio reporters covering the 1947 legislature were polled at the end of the session and asked to name by secret ballot the ity leader. "10 most valuable representatives and the 10 most valuable senators."

Here are the results announced:

10 MOST VALUABLE REPRE-SENTATIVES

Roy Dunn, Pelican Rapids, majority leader.

Waltre F. Rogosheske, Sauk Rapids.

Lawrence M. Hall, St. Cloud, speaker.

Robert J. Sheran, Mankato. Joseph J. Daun, St. Peter. Lawurence F. Haeg, rural Henepin.

Claude Allen, St. Paul. John Hartle, Owatonna. Emil Ernst, Lester Prairie. Arthur Gillen, South St. Paul.

Runners-up in the balloting were these seven representatives: Charles Root, Minneapolis; Fred Schwanke Deerwood; Ed Chilgren, Littlefork; E. S. Mills, Montevideo; Joseph Prifrel, Jr., St. Paul, minority leader; E. B. Herseth, Kittson county; George Murk, Minneapolis.

**10 MOȘT VALUABLE SENATORS** Gerald T. Mullin, Minneapolis (the only legislator to receive the

unanomous vote of all 16 news, William Dahlquist, Thief River `` and radio men). Gordon Rosenmeier, Little Falls. A. L. Almen, Balaton. Ancher Nelsen, Hutchinson, Henry Sullivan, St. Cloud. Karl G. Neumeier, Stillwater. Don O. Wright, Minneapolis. Charles N. Orr, St. Paul, major-

Falls.

Thomas Welch, Buffalo.

Runners-up were these four senators: Harry Wahlstrand, Willmar; B. G. Novak, St. Paul; A. R. Johanson, Wheaton; A, O. Sletvold, Detroit Lakes,

Every shade of political adheretnce' in our no-party legislature was represented in the list of 31

members out of the total of 198 who make up our legislature (67 senators, 131 representatives) in the balloting.

Both the liberal (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) minority and the conservative (Republican) majority as well as mid-roaders received votes.

Senator Mullin received the unanimous vote because of his record from the first day to the last.

The freshman membership was represented in the balloting, too. Some of the newcomers in both senate and house will be hear

from in a big way in future sessions, the writers believe.

Taking part in the balloting were the reporters who covered the legislative session for The Minneapolis Times, the St. Paul Pioneer-Press and Dispatch, radio stations WCCO and KSTP, the Associated Press, the United Press, The Minneapolis Tribune and The Minneapolis Star.

"Undoubtedly we passed up some men that deserved to be be included," the reporters agreed after the balloting.

