### Mr. Gehan offered the following resolution:

78

Whereas, Death has called Thomas J. Greene, who served as Representative from the 37th District for the past ten years, and

Whereas, In his untimely death we feel a keen sympathy for his family and for ourselves a great bereavement, Now Therefore,

Be It Resolved, By this House of Representatives of the Minnesota Legislature that we, through this means, give expression to our appreciation of his admirable character, and to our sorrow at the loss his family, his friends and the public have sustained by his untimely death, and,

Be It Further Resolved, That these Resolutions be printed in the Journal of the House and the Chief Clerk transmit an engrossed copy thereof to the family of the deceased.

In his death his family has sustained a great loss; the State has been deprived of a faithful servant and those who knew him might well say, "Our friend has gone."

Thomas J. Greene, with ability, reliability, endurance and action, gave his days and the best he had in an unselfish manner to his family, his friends, and to the public. His place in life can never be filled. His memories, good deeds and kindly service will live on. His counsel will be missed and all will suffer through his departure. That he is happier in the Great Beyond is the only consolation to those who were near and dear to him.

Which was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House.

Mr. McNelly moved that the name of Mr. Mayman be added as coauthor to H. F. No. 88.

Which motion prevailed.

Mr. Spindler moved that the name of Mr. Johnshoy be added as coauthor to H. F. No. 34.

Which motion prevailed.

#### MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE.

Mr. Speaker: I have the honor to announce the passage by the Senate of the following Joint Resolution, herewith transmitted.

Joint Resolution providing for the appointment of a statistician for the joint service of the Senate and House Committees on Motor Vehicles.

GEO. W. PEACHEY.

Secretary of the Senate.

Transmitted Jan. 10th, 1923.

### MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS-CONTINUED.

Mr. Green moved the adoption by the House of said Joint Resolution. The question being taken on the adoption of the Joint Resolution. And the roll being called, there were yeas 104 and nays 1, as follows:

# Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson, A., Anderson, G. A., Anderson, G. A., Barnes, Benson, Berg, Bernard, Blum, Bowers, Christianson, Cole, Cullum, Curtis, Dahle, Davis, C. R., Deans, Deans, DeLury, Dilley. Duemke, Emerson, Enstrom,	Fabel, Fabel, Finstuen, Fisk, Forestell, Fowler, Gehan, Geister, Girling, Gislason, Grandstrand, Green, Haugland, Herried, Hitchcock, Hompe, Horton,	McKnight,
--	--	-----------

Strandemo, Sweitzer, Swenson, E., Swenson, O. A., Taylor, Teigen, Thomas, Thompson, Therrien, Thorkelson, Trovatten, Veigel, Waldal, Walworth. Washburn, Mr. Speaker.

Moen,

Murphy,

Naylor,

Noonan,

Norton,

Oren,

Paige,

Pratt:

Quinn,

Rohne,

Samec.

Shonyo,

Skaiem.

Smith, Spelbrink,

Spindler, Starkey,

Stein.

Rodenberg,

Salmonson,

Odegard,

Pearson,

Mr. Flahaven voted in the negative.

So the resolution was adopted.

## COMMUNICATION.

### January 9, 1923.

Mr. Oscar Arneson, Clerk of the House of Representatives:

Dear Mr. Arneson: At a meeting of the Executive Board of the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation, the writer was requested by a resolution adopted by the board to secure 200 copies of the various bills pertaining to agriculture which is coming up at the present session of the Legislature. These copies are for distribution among our County Farm Bureau Associations, that the same may be studied by the Legislative commmittees of these associations.

When the agricultural bills are printed, will you please see that 200 additional copies are printed for the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation?

Thanking you in advance for this favor, I am

Yours very truly,

# MINNESOTA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION

By F. L. French, Secretary.

Mr. Norton moved that the foregoing request be granted. Which motion prevailed.

### ANNOUNCEMENTS.

The Speaker announced the appointment of the following members to attend the potato growers' conference: Messrs. Neuman, Berg and Waldal.

79

, 11