bublic servants / Demands of office grow

Others served long, too

Here are a few of Minnesota's longestserving elected officials:



Carl Iverson, an Ashby farmer and co-op manager who caucused with the Liberals in the old nonpartisan Legislatures, Minnesota House 1919-30 and

1939-66, and Senate 1931-34.



Donald Wright, a Minneapolis lawyer who caucused with Republican-oriented Conservatives, House 1927-33 and Senate '35-70.



38 YEARS

Stafford King, Republican. state auditor, 1931-69.



34 YEARS

Willard Munger, DFL-Duluth, Minnesota House. 1955-64, 1967present. He is the current dean of the Legislature.



32 YEARS

Harold Knutson, Republican, Congress (he represented Sixth District in west central Minnesota), 1917-49.



31 YEARS

Mike Holm, Republican, secretary of state, 1921-52.



28 YEARS

Knute Nelson. Republican, U.S. Senate, 1895-1923. By contrast, Hubert Humphrey served 22 years (1949-64 and 1971-78) and

Henrik Shipstead 24 (1923-47).

Source: Legislative Manual