Minnesota's Permit to Carry Law¹

- Essentially functions as an exception to the generally applicable prohibition on non-peace officers who carry/possess pistols in public.
- Considered to be a "shall issue" law in that the issuing authority (county sheriff where applicant resides or, for nonresidents, any sheriff) is required to issue the permit if the applicant meets the specified objective criteria.
- Covers both open and concealed carry. No requirement of concealment.
- No limit on the number of firearms carried under it.
- Valid throughout the state.
- Valid for five years.
- Cost may not exceed the actual and reasonable direct cost of processing it or \$100 (\$75 for renewal), whichever is less.
- Minimum age to receive is 21.
- Application must be submitted in person.
- Applicant must submit to a criminal background check (including annual updates) and cannot be prohibited from possessing a firearm under specified laws or listed in the statewide criminal gang investigative system database.
- Applicant must be trained in the safe use of a pistol (including fundamentals in pistol use, successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of possession/use).
- Sheriff has 30 days to issue or deny.
- Automatically becomes void if the holder becomes ineligible under law to possess a firearm.
- Sheriff may deny initial application (or seek revocation for an issued permit) if there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant/holder is a danger to self or the public.

- Certain types of carry do not require a permit such as carrying in one's dwelling, place of business, etc.
- Can carry under terms of the permit in most locations in the state. However, generally illegal to carry (with certain exceptions) on most public/private elementary, middle, or secondary school property, school buses, licensed childcare centers, courthouse complexes, federal buildings, correctional facilities, and state hospitals. Requires most private establishments (defined broadly) to conspicuously post a sign in the establishment or personally inform the carrier that firearms are prohibited in the establishment to prohibit carrying. Churches/houses of worship and homeowners/lawful possessors of private residences may prohibit carrying by any lawful manner.
- Allows reciprocity regarding permits issued from other states whose permit laws are not considered dissimilar to Minnesota's.
- Allows the issuance of a temporary emergency permit to carry in certain limited situations.
- Additional benefit of having a permit to carry is that when purchasing a pistol or a
 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon from a federal firearms dealer, a permit
 holder does not have to take any additional step to satisfy the Minnesota-specific
 requirement that a transferee permit (i.e., permit to purchase) is procured or a transfer
 report is filed. The permit to carry satisfies this requirement.
- Possessing a permit to carry also allows the holder to carry long guns in public.

Prepared by: Kenneth P. Backhus, Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis (651) 296-4396 June 15, 2022