STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

SECOND MEETING NINETY-FOURTH SESSION

House Education Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Bennett, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM, on January 22, 2025, in Room G23 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

BENNETT, Peggy, Chair MUELLER, Patricia, Vice Chair DIPPEL, Tom FOGELMAN, Marj GORDON, Jimmy LAWRENCE, Bryan ROACH, Drew

Representative Mueller moved the minutes of January 21, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The following provided presentations on local school district issues:

Superintendent Cory McIntyre, Anoka-Hennepin School District

Superintendent Michael Thomas, Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools

Superintendent David Law, Minnetonka Public Schools

Superintendent Jeff Drake, Fergus Falls Public Schools

John Morstad, Executive Director of Finances and Operations, Osseo Area Schools

Donna Friedman, Director of Administration and Human Resources, Forest Lake Area School District

Kyle Christensen, School Board Member, Farmington Area Schools

Superintendent Jason Berg, Farmington Area Schools

Lisa Carlson, Principal, Woodland Elementary, Rosemount-Eagan-Apple Valley

Aaron Nelson, Principal, Pequot Lakes High School

Dr. Eric Nelson, Principal, Chatfield High School

Superintendent Ranae Case Evenson, Jordan Public Schools

Sara Sievers, Teacher, Jordan Public Schools

Representative Lawrence assumed the gavel at 4:29 PM

HF0006 (Bennett) Read Act modified; appropriations cancelled; education innovation provisions modified; education innovation recodified and reorganized; Office of Achievement and Innovation established in the Department of Education; diversity, equity, and inclusion appropriation modified; and school performance reporting system established.

Chair Bennett moved HF0006 before the committee with the Chair's intention to lay the bill over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill or further consideration at a later date.

Representative Muller presented on HF0006.

Representative Bakeberg presented on HF0006.

Representative Lawrence laid over HF0006 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill or further consideration at a later date.

On January 24, 2025, the Minnesota Supreme Court held that 68 members are necessary to constitute a quorum of the House.

This document reflects proceedings that occurred before that decision was issued and are no longer active.

See Simon v. Demuth, No. A25-0066 (Minn. Jan. 24, 2025) (consolidated with Hortman et al. v. Demuth et al., No. A25-0068).

The meeting was adjourned at 4:49 PM.	
	Representative Peggy Bennett, Chair
	Isaac Pilon, Committee Legislative Assistant